The Agony of Choice

cisco_dogcisco_dog Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey, first post, so er, Hi.

Current job is ending next week. Been working at a large hospital in the UK for the last 5 months as a Network Engineer, first job since I graduated. On the waiting list for an operation at the moment so not looking for employment straight away (its the NHS so it'll probably be about 8 years away) so thought I would get (or try to get :)) a qualification or two.
I did have CCNA which has expired so will be retaking that but feel I need one or two others from different fields to give myself a better chance in the real world. I think I want to look at getting into a general support role and then in 5 or so years go back to networks as the main focus.
So if anyone has any advice it would be great, pointing me in the right direction etc, Im probably going to be using this forum a lot over the next 6 months or so, looking forward to it.

Comments

• UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    I personally recommend you focus on networking and use your CCNA and 6 months of experience to get another networking job and move from there. CCNA then CCNP or whatever you find yourself working with and enjoying. Good luck
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• odysseyeliteodysseyelite Member Posts: 504 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I second that.

I've been in the jack of all trades, generalist areas and its hard to get back into a certain area. I've been told by several senior admins to specailize. Since you already have a foot in the door with networking, I would continue with it. You could also do security afterwards since they can go hand in hand.

I had more calls after getting my CCNA than any other degree\certification on my resume.
    Currently reading: Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action
  • cb3dwacb3dwa Member Posts: 80 ■■□□□□□□□□
    where in the uk do u work?