Options

Security Certificate

tuxiqultuxiqul Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I was wondering if someone can suggest some security courses. I have no certificate only high school degree in IT. I was thinking to try something between CEH and OSCP. The main point is, I would like to use the certificate in order to find easier a job into it security environment. I have general knowledge about Linux, I use most of the well-known distributions but I'm not a programer. I am using backtrack for a while already and I'm self-learning metasploit and other tools. I really need an advice. Thank you

Comments

• Options
    SecurityThroughObscuritySecurityThroughObscurity Member Posts: 212 ■■■□□□□□□□
    mb CCIE Security.
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    mb CCIE Security.

That is way overkill for someone just starting out.

@Tuxiqul: Start out with the Security+. It's a great introduction to the security world and is a good entry-level security certification. From there you could move into more advanced security certifications. I would also seriously consider what you want to do in the security realm. Most security professionals begin as Network or System Administrators so maybe consider going down the Microsoft or Cisco path.
  • Options
    tuxiqultuxiqul Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Thanks, I was wondering if there is a place where can I take some courses for this cert. in London ? Where you recommend ?
  • Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I'd recommend picking up a book. I studied for it using a book and passed. I can't remember what the name of the book was. I know that Darril Gibson has good one that many on this forum have used to pass:

CompTIA Security+: Get Certified Get Ahead: SY0-301 Study Guide: Darril Gibson: 9781463762360: Amazon.com: Books
  • Options
    JayTheCrackerJayTheCracker Member Posts: 169
    CCNA Security