Certifications and University degree.

dwendwen Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all icon_surprised.gif,

I like to hear your opinion about this because I do have a discrepancy in my education.

Ok i graduated in Economy, but i work as a network engineer and I'm really good at it. I have some industrial certifications, like juniper, cisco and linux.

I just want your opinion guys should i go and get master degree in computer science or should i continue with industrial certifications more exactly should i go for CCIE/JNCIE or Master Degree in computer science ?

I'm confused right right now icon_rolleyes.gif, because most of the guys that do have a degree in computer science they are... hmm somehow they are mad at me for working as a network engineer(or i just misunderstood them), although I'm better than them.

If I chose one road the other must go on halt, and btw I already made my choice, which is -going with industrial certifications. For one obvious reason, they are more likely to give u a job because you are a professional and you really know what you're doing if you posses a certification, and for my master degree i can get it when I'm 33 or 35 years old :D.

But i just wanna hear your opinion, what do you guys think ?

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    It appears that you are in Europe? I would check the local job postings and see if you would receive any kind of pay increase or job hiring preference if you had a master degree. I don't know about Europe, but here in the US having a degree is simply a check box, unless of course the hiring manager happens to like you because you are fellow alumnist :)
  • NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    dwen wrote: »
    Ok i graduated in Economy, but i work as a network engineer and I'm really good at it. I have some industrial certifications, like juniper, cisco and linux.
    Naming those might help in this discussion. ;)