PASSED SWITCH! - now on to TSHOOT

wavewave Member Posts: 342
Hi guys,

I cleared the SWITCH exam this morning. Cisco exams always get my heart racing big time. I felt confident walking into the exam as I put hours and hours into studying. However, when I was answering the questions I suddenly lost confidence due to that stupid Cisco trivia - poorly written questions we all loathe. But, everything seemed to work, as others who have taken this exam recently reported.

I've been studying since the beginning of May, but took a two week vacation break and had to ramp up again afterward. I studied Monday through Friday 5pm-8pm and 5-7 hours on Saturdays and Sundays, with the odd weekend off.

I used the SWITCH Foundation Learning Guide, the OCG annexes (available online), the The Online CCNP Study Guide , The Cisco Learning Academy Lab Manual, whitepapers and documentation on Cisco.com and Boson ExSim Max for SWITCH.

The Boson Ex Sim Max exams are well worth the money. I found several weak areas that weren't covered as well as the could have been in the FLG and Boson link to Cisco documentation that explains all the nitty gritty. You need to know all of this stuff. Take the exams in simulation mode and then go each exam in study mode and read all of the explanations and also dive into the Cisco documentation they link to - it's all critical stuff.

Taking the evening off then I'll be studying for TSHOOT!

Cheers!

ROUTE Passed 1 May 2012
SWITCH Passed 25 September 2012
TSHOOT Passed 23 October 2012
Taking CCNA Security in April 2013 then studying for the CISSP

Comments

• /usr/usr Member Posts: 1,768
    Did you find SWITCH or ROUTE to be more difficult?
  • wavewave Member Posts: 342
    /usr wrote: »
    Did you find SWITCH or ROUTE to be more difficult?

I felt the ROUTE exam was more difficult. It's true what people say about the level of detail. ROUTE goes really in-depth and SWITCH covers a whole bunch of topics, it's more broad.

ROUTE Passed 1 May 2012