Work gave me read-only access to the network..!

mguymguy Member Posts: 167 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi! I'm studying for the CCNP. My role at work is not 100% networking. The network team has taken interest in me (after hearing of my CCNA i guess) and have given me read-access to the cisco devices in our HUGE enterprise network.

I mean HUGE. It is a bank.

They also gave me access to weather maps so I know which is what. I train with them one hour per day; right now it is shoulder surfing but they are giving me a run down on the stuff and basic set-up. I am not officially on their team so I don't really do stuff. BUT IT IS GREAT experience though.

I would like to know what one should do to take advantage of this. Like I said I have read-access to the network devices (core included) and have begun to take things apart. I've begun Diagramming the branch swet-ups with Visio, and I have the networking team on communicator ready to answer my questions. Now i'm listing the model numbers of the different routers in an excel sheet and just trying to make send of this complex network!!

I am studying for the CCNP, so I'm looking for the instances of where things will help me like BGP implementation. It's kinda overwhelming as it is enterprise level and there are lots of things in configuration.

My question really is how to proceed and get the most out of the situation. I would love to get the most of this and become a real networker!

Comments

• NetworkVeteranNetworkVeteran Member Posts: 2,338 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Ideas:

Create a topology diagram for the network for each layer (L1-L2-L3).

To me, any configurations that aren't at their defaults are interesting. For example, where and why do they filter, summarize, or redistribute routes?

What security precautions have they chosen to take.. and not to take? Are they, in your estimation, appropriate for what the network is carrying?

What WAN technologies are they using?
  • RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□