Network Jobs Going Away?

Danielh22185Danielh22185 Member Posts: 1,195 ■■■■□□□□□□
Forgive me if I didn't post this in the absolute appropriate form but I wanted to target the Cisco Audience since it is the leading majority.

So my company is going to be putting into place software that will control out network more dynamically. I think for now we may be years off before it fully is implemented across our large network, but this kind of scares me in a way. The real main purpose of this is to eliminate overhead with hardware/software. I am just beginning my career in networking and kind of small piece of me is scared I am too late to make a long lasting career out of it. Now, this may just be me freaking out a bit and thinking WAY to much into the idea but it does have me thinking for sure.

I would like to know what are your guys thoughts on this as we edge into networking becoming more dynamic and needing less and less overhead. I understand this has been happening for years but from what I am told, the software we are testing and planning to implement has the ability to take out the human factor all together.

Thoughts? Ideas?
Currently Studying: IE Stuff...kinda...for now...
My ultimate career goal: To climb to the top of the computer network industry food chain.
"Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else." - Vince Lombardi

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    What kind of software are you talking about? If its what I think you are referring to, something like EMCs Smart Network Configuration Manager then no, it can not take the human need out of the network. What these types of products do is the same thing network engineers have being doing forever with home grown scripts. It provides auditing and remediation of human set variables. It can not come up with these variables on its own.

So yeah, I think you are freaking out a bit.