Options

I want a college degree, but is now the best time?

tycoonbobtycoonbob Member Posts: 81 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone.
I have been speaking with WGU about signing up for their BIT: Network Administration program, since I have quite a few certifications that would transfer over. I'm just trying to decide if I should go now, or if I should wait.

I currently work as a Systems Engineer for a consulting firm based here in Louisville, KY. Getting a degree isn't going to translate into a pay increase, but I am definitely looking to get out of consulting and into a position as a SysAdmin, SysEngineer, or anything similar. Right now my focus is on Microsoft System Center products, but I am starting to do more into networking, and want to get my CCNA. I want to bench off that and get my CCNA Security, as well as some other security certifications. I have attached a spreadsheet which outlays the courses for the Network Admin program, and also shows what certs you get from those courses and what certs can bypass that course. I think that I could easily get my degree in 2-3 years, since I can bypass 8 classes (36 CU).

The only thing I don't like is that once you sign up, what certs you have is all that counts. The ICND1 class is in term 5, and while I don't have my CCENT currently...I could easily get it in the next month or two, but I would still have to sit through the class. That's one thing that is bothering me the most right now.

Anyone have any thoughts, or words of wisdom?

Comments

• Options
    kgbkgb Member Posts: 380
    If ICND1 at WGU is a certification class, you won't have to take it again if you transfer it in. The degree plan on the website is merely a suggestion. You determine what classes and when. If you wanted to take ICND1 in the beginning, you tell your mentor(WGU's term for faculty adviser) that's what you want to do.