CCDA cleared... a perspective

SomnipotentSomnipotent Member Posts: 384
Sat the test and passed this morning. It's definitely not everyone's cup of tea for sure, given it's approach is designing an optimal network rather than just getting down an dirty and building it from scratch using the CLI. Needless to say I was itching to get back to the command prompt.

I studied about three months for this using mainly Michael Shannon's CBT nuggets and the OCG. It's theory heavy and threw in a lot of material that I would have thought would be more in like with the CCNA Data Center track. Who knows, they might with the next iteration. Since I've already cleared ROUTE and SWITCH, I figure I might as well attempt the ARCH and go for the CCDP. From what I hear, that's where a lot of the fun is. If you've got the time and determination, I say go for the CCDA. If you like to play in the IOS sandbox, stick with the R&S, Security, or Voice tracks.
Reading: Internetworking with TCP/IP: Principles, Protocols, and Architecture (D. Comer)

Comments

• IvanjamIvanjam Member Posts: 978 ■■■■□□□□□□
    @Somnipotent - congrats on getting the CCDA! How do you guys manage to knock out unrelated certifications while doing a degree?
    Fall 2014: Start MA in Mathematics [X]
    Fall 2016: Start PhD in Mathematics [X]
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Congrats!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • ajs1976ajs1976 Member Posts: 1,945 ■■■■□□□□□□
    congrats
    Andy

2020 Goals: 0 of 2 courses complete, 0 of 2 exams complete
  • RoguetadhgRoguetadhg Member Posts: 2,489 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats!
    In order to succeed, your desire for success should be greater than your fear of failure.
    TE Threads: How to study for the CCENT/CCNA, Introduction to Cisco Exams

• nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    congrats
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking