Reputation of a Few Certifications

Spinal33Spinal33 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good morning (or evening/night depending on what time zone you may be in!)

A bit of background on me first as it's my first post. I'm a security consultant, and have been in the field for around 7 years. I've got a few certs, running a few off the top of my head CISSP, CEH ITILv3, Security+, and TigerScheme. From a vendor/product perspective, my employment history is a little more apparent as I've been certificated by TripWire (2), Qualys (2), Symantec (>10), and Apple (>10).

I recently ended a long contract with a client, and found myself with a few days of time to look at my development over the next year or so. I'm booking in for CISM in June; but need something to do until then.

I've looked at BSi's ISO27001 lead implementer cert - but it appears not to have any availability near me for quite a while (and it appears to be classroom led only, while I'm more of a self-study person)

So I started looking at a few others... but I have no experience around their reputation in the field...

* CWSP - Certified Wireless Security Programme (Cloud Security alliance)
* GCWN - Windows Security
* C|CISO
* CRISC

What's the "feeling" that people have with these? How reputable are they?

Comments

• paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Hello and welcome to TE.

GCWN are the GIAC complementary certification to SANS training. Both GIAC and SANS are well known and well repected. I tend to prefer self-study so I prefer the SANS online formats but their conferences are quite popular. I personally feel that their training is too expensive and I will not likely take any more of their training. I have one taken 2 of their online CBTS. As for the GIAC certifications, they are considered decent certifications. However, I have only sat for 1 GIAC certification exam and I thought it was medicore at best and un-challenging.