Trapped in a corner...

kanecainkanecain Member Posts: 186 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm currently studying for a career in IT Security. Currently I work in help desk. My company is being bought by a much larger company. Our main VMWare guy trained for the last two years with little VMWare experience, and now has his VCP, and is our main VM guy. This guy is most likely about to get a higher paying job else-ware. My boss will contract this lost position until someone else is hired. Should I step up and educate myself on VMWare until this guy is replaced? I do not want a career in Virtualization, but these days I feel pressured to do so. What do you guys think?
WGU - Bachelors of Science - Information Security
Start Date: Jan. 1st, 2012
Courses:
Done!!!

Comments

• ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Do want you want. If you already know you don't want virtualization or VMware specifically, don't do it.

Now, if they're going to pay for you to go training and work you into that role, it's better than helpdesk and doesn't really hurt you. Just don't go study it and pay for your own VCP just because the position is opening up.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • kanecainkanecain Member Posts: 186 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the reply. It just seems that if you're not pursuing a career in Virtualization, then you're not going anywhere. I love IT Security, and I absolutely hate server administration.
    Courses:
    Done!!!
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    That's just your company. There are plenty of other areas with lots of jobs and money to be made, especially in security. Virtualization is only one component of infrastructure.
    Working B.S., Computer Science