Would a B.S. in Computers help me?

tecjohnsontecjohnson Member Posts: 46 ■■□□□□□□□□
Looking for some advice.

My background is that I graduated with a B.S. in Mass Communications with a concentration on Television. Yeah, I know, but it got me on the set of Sesame Street for a couple of years.

But I decided I really hate freelance work (and almost all television production work is freelance) so I got into computers.

I have been a Desktop Support II for about 10 years now. The pay here is better than most (almost $70K) and it was secure and frankly I just got lazy.

Unfortunately this company offers no training what-so-ever and no room for advancement. Whenever something opens up outside of Desktop Support they almost always go outside the company first.

Now I think it is really time to move on. Especially with a pair of twins having arrived. I have been sending out my resume but no luck yet. Had a couple of interviews but said I was too qualified for Desktop Support (which wouldn't pay as much anyway) and underqualified for anything else.

Do people here think a BS from WGU may open a few more doors for me?

Comments

• SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    At this point, I don't think it would be a good use of your time to go back to school and earn a second degree, even if it is in Information Systems. I think you'd be better off focusing on moving into something either server-side or network-side, depending on your interests, and climbing the IT ladder from there. The fact that you already have a Bachelor's degree will server you well, as will some heavier-duty certs.