Why are students never paid their due?

spartensparten Banned Posts: 72 ■■□□□□□□□□
Why do companies think its OK to pay students chump change, or better yet, nothing at all, just because we're in college? We're not slaves, and we don't need your mediocre jobs.

PS: I have 5 yrs work experience, yet because I am a student, they will only pay me $20/hr max. wtf?

/rant

Comments

• Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Consider the alternative. Most companies would not work with students if they were required to pay them current wages.
  • LarryDaManLarryDaMan Member Posts: 797
    If you have 5 years experience and the bias is only against you being a student.... maybe don't tell them you are in school. It is not mandatory to disclose that.
  • abramsgunnerabramsgunner Member Posts: 31 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It may have something to do with the fact that there are other students who will jump at $20/hr mediocre jobs, many who have only had "sub" mediocre $8-$9/hr jobs in the past.
  • ipchainipchain Member Posts: 297
    And a rate of 20$/hr is unacceptable to you while attending school? Personally, I would have loved the opportunity to work, even for FREE, when I was a student so that I could get the required experience most organizations asked for back then. Just something to think about, we should appreciate what we have and not take things for granted.
    Every day hurts, the last one kills.
  • QordQord Member Posts: 632 ■■■■□□□□□□
    sparten wrote: »
    they will only pay me $20/hr max. wtf?

It's better than minimum wage. 'Round where I live, that pay's pretty good for the expected age group of 21-25 year-olds.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■