Options

Certifications for Networking Career?

MustilloMustillo Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello,

Just a quick question for those who have had or know good Certifications and starting points for a Career in Networking.
I have been studying CCNA for a couple of months now taking the ICND1 exam in a couple of weeks just finishing up on study, but reading articles recommending basic Certifications like: CompTIA A++ and Network+, are they really necessary if you have CCNA?
And when I do complete CCNA where should I move onto? CCNP? Or gain some other skills like: CompTIA Network +, Linux (LPIC-1) or even Microsoft?
Thanks,

Mustillo

Comments

• Options
    Master Of PuppetsMaster Of Puppets Member Posts: 1,210
    CCNA is the standard so you can't go wrong there. You should definitely get it. If you have a CCNA it is arguable how much value a N+ would add. Generally, if you have the CCNA there is no need to go for N+. Your best bet after that is to get experience. A CCNP without experience doesn't have much weight. Microsoft or Linux depends on what you want to do and your job.
    Yes, I am a criminal. My crime is that of curiosity. My crime is that of judging people by what they say and think, not what they look like. My crime is that of outsmarting you, something that you will never forgive me for.
  • Options
    Thank you very much, yes I am definitely getting CCNA, what would be the best way to go for experience?
  • Options
    jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Don't bother with network+ if you've got your CCNA done before.

You can see about volunteering or job shadowing for some experience.
    And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□