Government InfoSec

TByrd450TByrd450 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all, I am currently training for my CompTIA A+ certification this school year through an online training program called LabSim by Testout. (I'm a Sophomore in high school) I will hopefully pass both the 801 and 802 exams. When i pass them, I will be eligible to return my Junior year for CompTIA's Network+ certification. For my senior year, which InfoSec certification would give me the most benefit for a Government Job.(I will be applying for an Internship after high school with the NSA) Will i have the necessary prerequisites for the Certified Ethical Hacker or should I go for Security+ and SSCP? Is the SSCP worth getting?

Comments

• NovaHaxNovaHax Member Posts: 502 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Based on my years working in DOD...I can tell you that Sec+ seems a lot more prevalent than CEH. As far as difficultly, I'd say they are about the same. But Sec+ will probably give you a better overall introduction to security. I say go Sec+ and if you enjoy it, move on to CEH and beyond in InfoSec.
  • TByrd450TByrd450 Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
    What do you do within the DOD NovaHax. I would love to advance in the ranks and eventually be a hacker or related within the NSA, and I didn't know what certification to start out with. Also, what school has a good computer science degree with concentration in either Cybersecurity or Information Security. John Hopkins and James Madison stuck out to me, but I would like input from people that have similar degrees and work for the government in similar areas.
  • MSP-ITMSP-IT Member Posts: 752 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You'd most likely need to attend official training if you wanted to get the the CEH.
    In order to be considered for the EC-Council certification exam without attending official training, candidate mustHave at least two years of information security related experience.
    Remit a non-refundable eligibility application fee of USD 100.00