network engineering without 4 year degree?

happytechhappytech Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Greetings,
I'm 29 with no IT experience and 80k in student loans. I plan on getting the A+ and network+ certs. I have a degree in accounting and a few mba credits, no job currently. I can't go back to school for another bachelor's degree. Is it possible for me to get a career in IT with just certs? And I would like to be a network engineer eventually

Comments

• IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    If you had absolutely no degree whatsoever, it would be a bit harder but still obtainable. In your case, you actually have *a* degree so it's definitely possible. I've met my fair share of history and music degree holders who are now successful network engineers. It's just going to take you a bit to build yourself up but you definitely shouldn't get discouraged because your degree isn't IT-specific.
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931
    Blog: www.network-node.com
  • santaownssantaowns Member Posts: 366
    Your first step is to tailor your resume. You will need to gain entry level experience so find some help desk or NOC and start applying once your resume is up to par. Since you have 0 experience a certification may get you in the door. I suggest also looking at an internship.
  • instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    I'd recommend the following:

1. Actively participate in a student/professional IT group in your area. (If possible, one that is network-focused, like a Cisco user group.)
    2. Let everybody you run into know that you want to work in networking. Family, friends, etc.
    3. Seek out entry level opportunities.
    4. Look for free/low-cost training opportunities. Library, web search, university e-materials, vendor specials (e.g., INE is offering CCNA R&S training for free), etc.