I'm Having Trouble Picking a Field/Specification in IT

ZombieNo7ZombieNo7 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been on here a few times a while back, but I was never really serious. I ended up doing something unrelated to IT, but my love of the field has brought me back, and this time I really am serious about breaking into the field. I somewhat recently graduated college with a Liberal Arts degree(don't get me started on the waste of time and money), and that is obviously not helping me get into the computer field. What I hope will, though, is the fact that I've been working with computers as a hobby for over 10 years now. I just don't have any idea as to which fields are the most "open." As in, where is there room to get in? My knowledge is fairly varied, but I have been using Linux exclusively for around 7 years. I know quite a bit about just about every major distro, and have set up plenty of home and small servers. Would getting Linux certs be a good path? What about programming? I've done some Python and Java, and I do like that as well. I am by no means a master, but I'm willing to work at it. I've always been interested in security as well. I don't really have any experience there except for basic anti-virus/securing server knowledge, but it seems interesting. Of the things that I mentioned, is there something that stands out as a real opportunity? I'm willing to invest the time(not working right now) and some money to get to where I need to be. Thank you.

Comments

• JaneDoeJaneDoe Member Posts: 171
    Don't try to specialize yet. Go work for a smaller company or nonprofit that needs a generalist. Where you want to specialize will come.
  • yzTyzT Member Posts: 365 ■■■□□□□□□□
    If you enjoy programming and have used Java, you shouldn't have any problem finding a job, imo. At least where I live, 80% of the job posts are for Java programmers.
  • ZombieNo7ZombieNo7 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□