No textbooks for CCNP-Wireless?

Cat5Cat5 Member Posts: 297 ■■■□□□□□□□
So there are no Cisco books for the CCNP-Wireless track? I only see the quick reference guides, which are good but far from comprehensive. I think this is the only track I've ever seen that doesn't have textbooks to study for it. For someone who is wanting to study wireless without having any hands-on experience, a no-textbook track certainly gives one pause. The QRGs have good info, but they don't ease you into the material; they just tend to drop the house on you all at once and without the witty charm of the Cisco authors. IMHO, not the best way to learn for someone just starting out (after the CCNA-Wireless, of course).

Wouldn't it be a better idea before Cisco introduces a new track to already have the textbooks ready and waiting for those wanting to pursue it? It's not like they don't have the resources. The way it is, they play the just-be-patient-they-ll-be-out-soon game. I'm not a product manager, but if I were put in charge I'd sure structure it to be ready to go out of the gate. And I think this way would sell more books, as well as generate more interest in the track, having the materials ready to purchase from Cisco Press.

Okay - a little steam vented.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Usually only the more popular tracks ever get dedicated Cisco Press books. I guess you wireless guys are in the same boat as the Service Provider guys. You have to either take the official course and get the materials, or piece together from books not written specifically for the exams.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Cat5Cat5 Member Posts: 297 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I just hope these tests are passable with the available materials and with no hands-on experience (outside a home lab). I'll bet the people passing the NP-Wireless tests are already doing wireless at their workplace. I guess I'll find out soon.