Options

Connection & Authentication Protocols help

rhtrht Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi, this is my first post in this section of the forums. I am actually studying for a Microsoft exam :P but thought this is the best section to post this since its related & the forums here are actually alive.

Anyway, I understand that connection protocols like PPTP, SSTP & L2TP create a tunnel to provide data authentication, integrity & encryption. However, before i actually create a tunnel i need to authenticate to the other endpoint using authentication protocols like EAP and PEAP-TLS.

So my question is which protocols (connection or authentication) actually provide the authentication since they both do?
Also correct me if i am wrong in what i wrote above.

Comments

• Options
    TrashmanTrashman Member Posts: 140
    PPTP and L2TP typically relies on Point-to-point Protocol (PPP).

In order to establish communications over a point-to-point link, each end of the PPP link first sends LCP packets to configure the data link during the Link Establishment phase.
    After the link has been established, PPP provides for an optional Authentication phase before proceeding to the Network-Layer Protocol phase.
    Bachelor of Science in Information Systems
    2015 COLOR=#008000]X[/COLOR | 2016 COLOR=#ff8c00]In progress[/COLOR | 2017 | 2018
  • Options
    gbdavidxgbdavidx Member Posts: 840
    is this covered in icnd2? I dont remember reading about this in icnd1
  • Options
    xnxxnx Member Posts: 464 ■■■□□□□□□□
    ICND2, there's quite a bit on WAN technologies
    Getting There ...

Lab Equipment: Using Cisco CSRs and 4 Switches currently
  • Options
    rhtrht Member Posts: 92 ■■□□□□□□□□
    So unless i am using an authentication protocol alongside the connection protocol, the connection protocol will authenticate using LCP packets

Thanks Trashman that explains it for me :)

gbdavidx i am studying for a MS exam as i explained not CCNA!
  • Options