Path to VCP

burfectburfect Member Posts: 128
Looking for some general feedback.

On the path to obtaining a VCP and becoming proficient in virtualization/cloud technologies in general, would it make more sense from an educational standpoint to have a solid understanding of Networking or Storage FIRST.

Obviously virtualization is an aspect of IT that touches all facets of the data center, but in logically mapping out a learning path, I am not sure if it would make more sense to become proficient in networking and then learn storage, or vice versa.

Thanks All

Comments

• tstrip007tstrip007 Member Posts: 308 ■■■■□□□□□□
    That was recommended to me before I started studying for it. I didn't listen. It took me about 10 months to get prepared for the VCP. If I could go back I prob. would have went with a networking cert first.
  • burfectburfect Member Posts: 128
    Good to know.

I think my conflict is I am not sure it if it would make sense from educational standpoint to tackle networking OR storage first.
  • kriscamaro68kriscamaro68 Member Posts: 1,186 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I would do networking first then go to storage. Storage is going to use the network to connect to anything you end up using so it will all be based off of networking first.

Edit: Just to clarify I mean networking and storage knowledge not certs.
  • iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Definately go network first. Some storage like iSCSI uses networking and its important to know why using things like a vLan are important.
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□