Options

Stuck and Confused about my Next Step in Security Certification

MechsMechs Member Posts: 25 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys, so a lot has happened since I first joined this job. I managed to pass my MSc in Information Security, gained a job in a very very good security company doing intrusion analyst/incident detection and finally in January I managed to pass my GCIA exam

But the next step is what I am confused about. My management are A-OK with funding my GCIH exam, but that won't be until a little later in the year. So I am looking for something else to do, and I am not sure what. My following options are (self study):

-CISSP: Long and I have only got around 2 years of experience, so I am not even sure if it is beneficial for me at the moment
-SSCP: The little brother of the exam above, but is it really that beneficial to my learning/future?
-Security+: I see some of the domains mimick the CISSP domains, but it does indeed seem to be a better study length in comparison to CISSP. Not too big in the UK either.
-ECSA: Sounds good on paper, seems to be a mini-GCIA. But it doesn't appear to be too popular
-Edit* Or possibly quite left field: CCENT. I really should get my raw networking more drilled, and I use a lot of Cisco logs where we work. I don't specifically work on Cisco devices, so that's a slight downside

I am not looking specifically for something to impress recruiters, but it is something always in the back of your mind. I don't think I will be able to afford to maintain 3 (4 when I get 4 years worth of experience for CISSP) certifications, so I need to be picky about which one I choose. I am more in love with the analysis side of security, rather than the pen testing side of things, so that of course is another fundamental part of next certifications to choose

What do you guys think? Cheers

Comments

• Options
    LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□