Cert for beginner server/networking

mrapocmrapoc Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all

I have a degree in computing science, HND and btec lvl3 in it practitioner. I feel through my experience of working as a technician I already know the a+ content and not really sure if its worth considering.

Anyway I am looking to get proficient in networking and server setup and maintenance etc as I haven't really had any hands on or training in that field. I really want to know best practises etc.

Same with networking and basic security. Any recommendations on courses that I can study?

Cheers
Sam

Comments

• BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□
    The MTA certs from Microsoft would be good, along with Comptia's Network+, Security+. CWNP's CWTS is a good basic overview of wireless networking. From there you can decide what path is best for you - be it admin, security, network design, support, etc.

Check Udemy for discounted courses, theres several links in the threads here for free courses on Linux, Python, etc for you to learn as well.

I wouldn't necessarily discount the A+. Some employers require it, others don't. At least read one of the books so you can familiarize yourself with the material if it comes up in an interview.
  • mrapocmrapoc Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Bokeh wrote: »
    The MTA certs from Microsoft would be good, along with Comptia's Network+, Security+. CWNP's CWTS is a good basic overview of wireless networking. From there you can decide what path is best for you - be it admin, security, network design, support, etc.

Check Udemy for discounted courses, theres several links in the threads here for free courses on Linux, Python, etc for you to learn as well.

I wouldn't necessarily discount the A+. Some employers require it, others don't. At least read one of the books so you can familiarize yourself with the material if it comes up in an interview.