What to study after CCNP? Unique situation.

neal32neal32 Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,

I'm a CCNA certified Network Engineer. I passed my CCNP Route Oct 2012, quit my job in Mar 2013 and went on a year long sabbatical. Got back home, decided it wasn't time to settle yet so I left for another year travelling. Last time I justified not studying by learning Spanish. Anyway this time I'm going to finish off the rest of CCNP ASAP, pretty much ready to sit the switch test, but going to study for 3-4 more weeks, due to the test centre being 500km away in another country. Knock over TSHOOT, then.....?

I'm thinking CCNA Voice as I have experience working with CUCM, CME and PBX's, but I only have 2 x 3560 and a 2940 with no possibility to really build a lab.

So, the question I pose to the forum, what would you study in my situation? I have lottttttts of time (I can only surf for a couple of hours in the morning before I get tired, then I'm free to study), limited physical equipment and a pretty strong motivation.

I understand that 2 years of travelling isn't going to look too flash on my CV, so I might as well fill it in with some certs.

Cheers,

Neal

P.S Pic related, it's my ghetto Peruvian switch lab (Was a nightmare getting them back after customs seized them.......also $90)

Comments

• RouteMyPacketRouteMyPacket Member Posts: 1,104
    neal32 wrote: »
    Hey Guys,

I'm a CCNA certified Network Engineer. I passed my CCNP Route Oct 2012, quit my job in Mar 2013 and went on a year long sabbatical. Got back home, decided it wasn't time to settle yet so I left for another year travelling. Last time I justified not studying by learning Spanish. Anyway this time I'm going to finish off the rest of CCNP ASAP, pretty much ready to sit the switch test, but going to study for 3-4 more weeks, due to the test centre being 500km away in another country. Knock over TSHOOT, then.....?