Going for CISSP

ExpectExpect Member Posts: 252 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi :)

I have 5 years of IT/IS experience, and am currently working for F5 Networks in the security field, aiming for CISSP.

My plan is to start with the Shon Harris book "CISSP All-in-One Exam guide 6th Edition", "CISSP prep guide", and "CISSP for dummies" with no deadline set to finish it, I will be using most of my free time for it and from other certification experiences I am very committed to what I do and and I believe this is how it works best for me.

I have skimmed through many TE topics on CISSP prep guides to get the clue of what to use for my studies, and other than that book I will refer to the available online material.

I would love to hear more thoughts on study materials, strategies of people here.

Thanks and I hope next year I will be looking at this post and I will have the CISSP under my belt already :)

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Best bet is to go through the "Passed CISSP" threads as many have thoroughly documented their study plans. See what common elements they have, check them out, and decide what works for you. In my particular case I planned on using the AIO as my primary source but quickly discovered the overly verbose style was not for me. Ended up switching to the Conrad Study Guide as primary, supplemented by the AIO, OIG and Conrad's 11th hour.
  • ExpectExpect Member Posts: 252 ■■■■□□□□□□
    AIO is indeed verbose.
    I am using some online blogs, AIO, 11th hour, CCCure paid subscription and CISSP for dummies (which I already read it cover to cover)
    also found some very informative **** sheets which will help me tons
    I'm currently on a 6~ hrs study per day schedule and aiming to take it on October 6th this year.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    I would guess that NIST Special Publications are used quite a bit as references for (ISC)2 exam items, so don't forget those.