Security Certification Path

Jr.SecAnalystJr.SecAnalyst Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, I am new to the security field, but have been working in IT for over 2+ years. I come from a Microsoft Systems Administration background. In terms of certifications I currently have MCSE, Security+ and Network+. At my current job I'm a junior security analyst in a SOC, and was looking for some certification paths to take in security. I want to focus on the offensive side. My current plan is to do something like this:

1. WCNA (Wireshark Certified Network Analyst)
2. CEH (Certified Ethical Hacker)
3. eCCPT (Certified Professional Penetration Tester)
4. OSCP (Offensive Security Certified Professional)

This is just a start I guess, afterwards maybe some linux and cisco certs. What do you all think of this path anything to change/remove/add/re-arrange to this list?

Comments

• the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome aboard! I think it will really depend on what the focus of your position will be. Being part of a SOC, you'll definitely want to get to know Wireshark really well. From there, I would focus on Linux because a lot of the tools you are going to use will be on Linux and if you plan to take eCCPT and OSCP having a solid foundation in Linux is a must. I'd look to see if there are an vendor specific certs for the devices that you use to monitor your network. So if your looking for a path, you might want to do it the following way:

1. Linux+ (or just get a solid working knowledge of Linux)
    2. WCNA
    3. Vendor tools (Cisco, Juniper, Sourcefire)
    3. eCCPT (they cover Network and Systems security, but web applications is a huge part)
    4. OSCP