Skipping CCNA R/S and doing CCNA Security

PupilPupil Member Posts: 168
I am currently studying for CCENT and plan to sit the exam soon. My long term goal is to have my CCNA Security and be a network security engineer. Was wondering if it's a good idea to skip CCNA R/S or should I just finish it before going for CCNA Security?

Comments

• VinnyCiscoVinnyCisco Member Posts: 176
    You can take the tests in any order you want. However, you won't get the certification until you have completed CCNA first as it is a required prerequisite.

My advice is do CCNA R&S first.
    "Failure is the prerequisite of Success" - V. G.
  • jvrlopezjvrlopez Member Posts: 913 ■■■■□□□□□□
    After the test revision that took affect 1 Oct 13, CCNA R/S is no longer a prereq for holding any of the CCNA concentrations.

You can now leap frog from CCENT to CCNA:S, CCNA:V, etc.

Odd, eh?

Back on topic - I'd get the R/S and then the Security concentration like how it was done in the olden days. R/S is a great foundation of networking/Cisco knowledge.
    And so you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high. ~Ayrton Senna
  • VinnyCiscoVinnyCisco Member Posts: 176
    Really? wow. Didn't know that. So you will get your certificate mailed to you even if you have not certified CCNA? Strange indeed.

Well, my advice stands... I would finish CCNA before going into one of the specialty areas. ;)
    "Failure is the prerequisite of Success" - V. G.
  • PupilPupil Member Posts: 168
    Yup Vinny, you can skip the R/S nowadays.

I was leaning towards that viewpoint jvrlopez. I doubt one could get a network security gig with CCNA Security w/o the R/S. The job would probably require the R/S knowledge and skills.
  • Vask3nVask3n Member Posts: 517