Passed GSEC today

WilliamK99WilliamK99 Member Posts: 278
Passed GSEC today with a 95%. I have already taken and achieved the GSLC, GCIH and GCIA and this was still a challenge. I used classroom based training, On Demand and Self Study. I can't emphasize enough the importance of a good quality Index written by yourself in order to maximize your score. Despite being an intro course, it is still a challenge and I highly recommend both the course (SANS 401) and the exam (GIAC GSEC) for those wanting to delve deeper into security. I learned quite a bit and was amazed at how much information they were able to cram into both the course and the exam. Working on SANS 501 next....Wish me luck!

Comments

• Khaos1911Khaos1911 Member Posts: 366
    Congrats! I'm currently studying for GCIA, I'd love to hear your thoughts on your GCIA experience.
  • WilliamK99WilliamK99 Member Posts: 278
    Khaos1911 wrote: »
    Congrats! I'm currently studying for GCIA, I'd love to hear your thoughts on your GCIA experience.

Out of all the SANS courses I have taken GIAC-GCIA is the hardest exam. I don't remember looking at my Index much as quite a bit of it is packet analysis and understanding how the packets in every major protocol work and how to read the packets in Hexadecimal format. I had the hardest time understanding this concept and on test day spent half the test wrapping my head around this. I also had trouble with Snort rules as I understood it, but some of the questions about rules through me off. Luckily I escaped with a 79 my lowest score I have ever achieved on a GIAC test. I think the key is going through on demand multiple times if available, creating a good Index, and then spend hours upon hours with Snort/Bro/Wireshark and the other tools and get some hands on analysis of real life packets...