Help asap. Network team. Im a newbie in this field

JoloNationJoloNation Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Can anyone tell me the simplest explanation of a broadcast domain.

Please. Im having trouble understanding it

Comments

• mistabrumley89mistabrumley89 Member Posts: 356 ■■■□□□□□□□
    The simplest way I can explain it is:
    A broadcast domain = a subnet = a network
    Goals: WGU BS: IT-Sec (DONE) | CCIE Written: In Progress
    LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/charlesbrumley
  • phoeneousphoeneous Member Posts: 2,333 ■■■■■■■□□□

^This

Imagine going into a building that has a bunch of rooms with people conversing about. If you walk into one room and talk to just those people, your broadcast stays in that room. Going into a different room will be a different broadcast domain/subnet/vlan/network.
  • spiderjerichospiderjericho Registered Users, Member Posts: 890 ■■■■■□□□□□
    JoloNation wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me the simplest explanation of a broadcast domain.

Please. Im having trouble understanding it
    We can use an elementary school class to discuss the three types of IPv4 communications. A Unicast is a one to one communication. Example: Teacher to student. Or Student to student. A Multicast is one to many. Example: Teacher to all of the female students. Or Teacher to all of the male students. A Broadcast is one to all. Example: Teacher to ALL of the students. But this only covers IPv4 communication. IPv6 is another can of worms.
  • DevilWAHDevilWAH Member Posts: 2,997 ■■■■■■■■□□
    phoeneous wrote: »
    ^This

Imagine going into a building that has a bunch of rooms with people conversing about. If you walk into one room and talk to just those people, your broadcast stays in that room. Going into a different room will be a different broadcast domain/subnet/vlan/network.

This is how I always explain it.