so...what did CISSP do for your career?

chickenlicken09chickenlicken09 Member Posts: 537 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hey,

So as the title says, did the cissp cert help your career much? This is mainly for the guys here who had little to no experience in infosec before geting the cert. Im curious to see how it helped e.g got an interview, got you onto the info sec path, pay rise etc. How did you start and where you are now.

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Well, I'm an IT veteran but will tell you one thing. I recently migrated to a 100% Security job. During my search I found that the CISSP was either required or "highly recommended" for over 80% of the positions I looked at. Of course this may vary per region but at least gives you an idea.
  • H3||scr3amH3||scr3am Member Posts: 564 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Well I got my CISSP after I lost my job in a restructuring, I had the experience and was working towards it while i was working there, but I had a lot more time to focus on studying when I was without a job. As cyberguypr mentioned, lots of postings have it listed as a requirement or valuable assett to have. So far perhaps it's gotten me a few interviews, but I'm finding it's not opening the doors that I want it to so far. I'm still hopeful to get back into the security sector, but I'm also now looking at IT/Desktop support roles as well.

Overall, I think it's a great certification to have and list with your name, and it is highly desired in the industry. But I feel it doesn't hold the value it once did, I'm seeing lots of listings looking for the GSEC and other SANS certs aswell, also the ISACA certifications too (CISM/CISA) etc. I'd say it held more weight a few years ago when the market wasn't so saturated with them, and when it was harder to come by in a pool of applicants.
  • emerald_octaneemerald_octane Member Posts: 613
    My callback rate is 90% post CISSP, salary nearly doubled.