Job Search Questions. I have 2 certs, but 0 expereince (Need Advice)

bkhayesbkhayes Member Posts: 39 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello everyone.

basically - I'm having some confusion. maybe somebody who knows alot can help. I live in Silver Spring, Maryland.

I have a bachelors (4 year) in Information Systems & Decision Sciences.

I have a security + cert and i just earned the GIAC GCIH cert. and i took the Sec504 class too - but to be honest. i have zero experience.

I have my information on monster.com & dice.com and i have a updated linkedin profile i also am looking thru clearancejobs.com

i found this SANS 2014 Salary Survey.

https://www.sans.org/webcasts/2014-salary-survey-state-security-professionals-today-97735?utm_source=offsite&utm_medium=text-ad&utm_content=PR_SalarySurv2014_wc_043014&utm_campaign=Webcasts&ref=157920

https://www.sans.org/reading-room/whitepapers/analyst/cybersecurity-professional-trends-survey-34615

but my main issue is this. basically i think its a bad idea to sit around and wait for jobs to come to me, i feel i need to apply for alot of positions.

I'm using monster & dice.com and i'm searching in my zipcode under words like

"incident handler"
"forensics"
"audit"
"security analyst"
"Systems admin "

and i basically keep finding jobs that require 2-3 years experience, special security clearance, and other types of certs i don't have at the moment.

am i searching in the wrong places? i keep hearing about how how recuiters are looking for people with certifications or that there are bots the search for key words in resumes...

but what i'm doing wrong - am i looking in the wrong places. when i see stats like this...i get confused....

how should i apply for jobs?

02_zpsvezwbmxr.jpg

01_zpsvdyhujyw.jpg

cybersecurity-professional-trends-survey-34615-21_zps59gmotp1.jpg

Comments

• tycar86tycar86 Member Posts: 34 ■■□□□□□□□□