Need help and guidence for future career!

itskevDOEitskevDOE Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello! My name is Kevin. Currently I am a computer sales consultant at Best Buy. I have finally decided what I want to do. My ultimate dream is to be an ethical hacker/penetration tester. Now, I have no idea what to do. I don't star school until the fall. I have no certifications, or education so far in this field. I was thinking in the fall I would start going for an Applied Sciences degree with a speciality in Networking & Cybersecurity. What else do I need or should I get? Any certifications? Courses? Programs to start working with? I want to make a good living off it. So anything to increase my salary? Also anybody have knowledge of starter jobs? To start to get my foot in the door and get some experience? Thank you to all who assist!

Comments

• DigitalZeroOneDigitalZeroOne Member Posts: 234 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I know this isn't helping (yet). What school will you attend for your degree?
  • jerseyIT92jerseyIT92 Banned Posts: 93 ■■□□□□□□□□
    You work at Best Buy. My advice is to not get into Geek Squad. They will teach you every possible thing that's wrong to do.

Since you have some time to kill, and seem like you enjoy it, start learning the basics.
    - Start with your A+ to learn the fundamentals.
    - After you read your A+, read the Net+. This is the fundamentals of networking.

Reading those two, along with messing around on the computer, should get you through the summer.
  • thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    jerseyIT92 wrote: »
    You work at Best Buy. My advice is to not get into Geek Squad. They will teach you every possible thing that's wrong to do

What types of things do they teach that are wrong?
    thomas_ wrote: »
    What types of things do they teach that are wrong?

Enjoy this video. This should pretty much sum up your question.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oCRPI-1dHQw