password for: line vty 0 4

scotlawrencescotlawrence Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello group,
this is my first post! :D
Im studying for the CCENT, hope to take the exam in about a month, then take the CCNA soon after.
I have a question concerning "line vty 0 4", I searched the forum, but didnt find anything related to this topic.
I have been studying and learning my basic configs like this:

S1(config)# line console 0
S1(config-line)# password (type the password)
S1(config-line)# login

S1(config-line)# line vty 0 4

Notice that "line console 0" has the "login" command, while "line vty 0 4' does not have the login command.
I believe this is the technically correct way to do it, because line vty does not require the login command,
you have to enter the password no matter what, so it works properly without the login command..
(I have tested it, it works exactly the same with or without the login command.)
I understand that the login command for the console line IS necessary, to be prompted for the password.

Thats all fine and good..but here is why im making this post..
it seems EVERY training source shows "login" for the VTY line as well!
they all show, and teach it, like this:

S1(config)# line console 0
S1(config-line)# login

S1(config-line)# line vty 0 4
S1(config-line)# login

My question is..why?
Odom, Lammle, CBT nuggets, and pretty much everything I have found shows "login" for the vty line.
is it perhaps that "everyone learned it that way" so everyone just does it out of habit?
maybe..but now im paranoid! ;) will using "login" be required on the cisco exams?
should I just always use it? even though its redundant? one point on the exam can be the difference between passing and failing! ;)

anyone encounter this issue before?
its probably a non-issue in reality, it doesn't matter if you use it or not, the end result is the same.
but its got me curious, so I thought I would ask about it.

thanks,
Scot

Comments

• EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□