NHRP/DMVPN/GRE/MPLS/jumbled mess of thoughts

hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
I'm looking at this book and seeing this hub and spoke scenario, and it's challenging me. What seems odd is that from my CCNA days, I studied Frame Relay (I will be learning MPLS soon from CCNP!) and how a spoke could learn about a network behind another spoke, from the hub, via OSPF, EIGRP, etc. However, you apparently could not just form a direct connection between spokes. This DMVPN allows for that to happen though (in conjunction with NHRP and mGRE). What if you were not using it though, and you wanted traffic sent in plain text direction between spokes instead of doing to the hub first? Is that how MPLS works or what? Maybe someone can clear up MPLS? I would believe here that satellite offices are not connected via MPLS, so your option would be from from Spoke A to Hub to Spoke B thru MPLS, or Spoke A to Spoke B thru the regular internet using DMVPN.

I'm confused, and if I sound crazy I'm sorry, it's early in the morning. But I've literally just started reading the book.

Comments

• fredrikjjfredrikjj Member Posts: 879
    . What if you were not using it though, and you wanted traffic sent in plain text direction between spokes instead of doing to the hub first?

You could just use DMVPN without encryption in that case. DMVPN is kind of modular in the sense that you can set it up with or without several of the components. For example, to satisfy your requirement of sending plain text, you could just not use encryption. You could also disable spoke to spoke communication entirely if you wanted to, etc. It's pretty cool.
  • hurricane1091hurricane1091 Member Posts: 919 ■■■■□□□□□□
    fredrikjj wrote: »