I can only land IT Public Sector jobs! Is this bad?

Bchen2Bchen2 Banned Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
Short story about me.
I graduated from a State University with a Bachelors in Computers
Ever Since then my first and current IT jobs have all been in Public sectors.
if you count my part time jobs and Internships while in college they all been in schools and city halls.
Now im job searching to see whats out there but no private sector employee will take me seriously saying I need real world experience I only get public sector jobs offers ( Universities , City Halls, Community Colleges etc)
Is this bad?icon_sad.gif

Comments

• goatamagoatama Member Posts: 181
    What *kind* of job experience do you have? Public sector isn't necessarily a nail in your coffin, unless it's just grunt work.
    WGU - MSISA - Done!!
    Next up: eCPPT, eWDP, eWPT, eMAPT
  • Bchen2Bchen2 Banned Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
    goatama wrote: »
    What *kind* of job experience do you have? Public sector isn't necessarily a nail in your coffin, unless it's just grunt work.

Mostly Help Desk work
    I went to an interview and they wanted to see if I worked with servers and networks that i had no clue about I done all help desk tasks even desktop and remote but none of that other stuff
    It seems they were looking for a system admin instead not help desk but made me what the heck I was in that interview for.
  • BerkshireHerdBerkshireHerd Member Posts: 185
    Your bachelors in Computers did not teach you anything about Servers or Networking?
    Identity & Access Manager // B.A - Marshall University 2005
    Your bachelors in Computers did not teach you anything about Servers or Networking?

Yes but we never worked with setting up a server or anything hands on.
    My hands on experience was mostly grunt work. Printer and computer repair all the basic stuff
    To Be honest theres sometimes a lot of down time and feel Im not as knowledgeable as I should be even thou my boss says I do my job good