Options

New to I.T stuff

TommyTTommyT Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am new to I.T but buying the Mike Meyers A+ and Net+ all in one exam guide. is this a good idea to get me started? thanks

Comments

• Options
    nelson8403nelson8403 Member Posts: 220 ■■■□□□□□□□
    What are you looking to get started in? A+ and Net+ will definitely help teach you the basics of computers and networking.
    Bachelor of Science, IT Security
    Master of Science, Information Security and Assurance

CCIE Security Progress: Written Pass (06/2016), 1st Lab Attempt (11/2016)
  • Options
    TommyTTommyT Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi Nelson, thanks for the reply. I want to maybe to ethical hacking or security. I am in a tight bind because I more than likely be getting medically retired and that doesn't pay much. I am starting over at age 40 so I want to get certified so I can get a new job some where. I have been watching videos on youtube and started studying the A+ and Net+. it seems like a lot so I am not sure how some people finish in a month. I am on medical leave so I can spend 8-12 hours reading so I hope I can finish in a month too.
  • Options
    thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    When I studied for the Network+ exam I used Mike Meyer's All In One book. I studied for about 35-40 hours reading through the book, taking notes, and taking practice exams.

Both A+ and Network+ in one month seems like a tall order. I would recommend just study at your own pace and take the test when you think you're ready.
  • Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    TommyT wrote: »