Options

Starting from the ground floor, trying to get on my feet

jesusmanjesusman Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
So, i'm homeless, trying this from a cheap mini laptop in a chicago public library, doing my best to move forward with real employment while i'm whittling my time away at a min wage deli job.

Outside of all of that tho, i have almost no real computer experience except growing up with one constantly attached to my hands. I've used linux before, but for all intensive purposes i have no experience.

I'm currently studying the CEH courseload and getting my hands on the CISSP and Offensive Security. I'm interested in this field because i need a telecommuting job to fit with my other goals (Professional Kickboxing). That part of my life is still progressing, but ultimately it won't pay (unless you're rich you can't really go that direction alone, and i lost my job teaching TKD after some directional disagreements with the head of the school, long story)

Where would i go from here if i'm interested in getting a infosec job? I don't care if it's pentester or security or anything, but i'd like it if it's interesting like pentesting seems to be.

BTW, money is kind of an issue for me, so any ways around spending 5k a cert would be appreciated - i know that CEH lets you bypass a lot of that if you worked a job in IT and stuff like that.

Comments

• Options
    VeritiesVerities Member Posts: 1,162
    REMOVED UNNECESSARY QUOTED REPLY FROM PREVIOUS POST

This is some personal advice, coming from someone who has immediate family in social services that support the homeless. The best thing for you to do is to be able to find some services that will help you get permanent housing. Once you have that, I think you should then start looking at the basics of computers, so you know how they work inside and out. Having a proper foundation in IT is essential to success, no matter what facet of IT you decide to pursue.