Zero to Pentester real quick

So I have a strong background in technology in general, and I have been in the Security realm for a short bit.

in 2016 I will be doing some pentesting for my company. I have never done it before personally or professionally.

Anyone been in a similar position?

Any recommendations on books or certs? Probably use the eLearnSecurity certs as a starter guide, and that Metasploit book
Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark

Comments

• iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Besides eLearnSecurity?
    OSCP
    SEC560 / GPEN and SEC542 / GWAPT

Certs are just OK but being able to understand different programming languages and write your own scripts and exploits seems far more valuable.

Why do you want to do pen testing? Seems to me everyone wants to do it so there is high competition for a few jobs so what will set you apart from everyone else?

John Strand is one of my favorite speakers at SANS conferences and this video seems relevant: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yo4oP2eyDtI
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • Mike-MikeMike-Mike Member Posts: 1,860
    Well, I have never done it, so I dont that I'm going to want to do it. However it sounds interesting, and yes I know it's not tv show hacking all day, I know it is full of writing reports,etc

I'm quite verbose, and pretty used to writing reports on various subjects.

But the main reason I want to learn now is my job wants me to do it. I'm at a small company, so I'm an all in one security guy.
    Currently Working On

CWTS, then WireShark
    Ah fair enough. If your job is pushing you in that direction then you should request that they match your efforts by ponying up for a SANS course or two.