General questions about CISSP

hellotechhellotech Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,
I have a background as software/test and network engineer with a Gap in my career going to teaching. I'm trying to go back to the field and I need to update my learning. I'm thinking to go into the security engineer field with taking CISSP certificate and I have few questions before I invest time and money in it.
1- I understand the networking layers and basic TCP/IP LAN/WAN configurations and I am a quick learner, but can I pass the certificate without the need to take other certificate/s before it?
2- I have no experience in security, would companies ask for that? and if I pass the CISSP will it be enough for the employer to consider my resume?
3- I need to fill in some paper work for an informational interview for a 2 technical IT preferably who have the certificate and are working, it's a 20-30 mins questionnaire that asks about their daily routine at work and what they need to be successuful at their jobs, etc.

I'm new to the forum and I hope I can find some answers.
Thank you for your time.

Comments

• TechGuru80TechGuru80 Member Posts: 1,539 ■■■■■■□□□□
    How long was your gap? There is only a certain timeframe that you can claim previous experience towards the CISSP (5 years or 4 years and an applicable degree/certification).

1. You must understand it from a security perspective (attacks, malicious use, etc.). The OSI model is one part in an otherwise very large common body of knowledge. You are probably better off starting with Security+ (or network security certifications, such as Cisco) and see where you stand. Not to mention you haven't worked in security so although you have technical knowledge, security involves analyzing bad guys (many of whom are operational employees).