Options

What it takes to pass CCDA with flying colors (in my experience)

instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
Disclaimer: Please note that the OCG may barely cover enough content to get a pass. Using these additional resources should cover the gaps in your preparation. Also, I'm not a designer. Still, I would advise all network engineers to look at the design stuff (excluding the marketing information).

What it takes to pass CCDA with flying colors (in brief, see further below for details):
(1.) Make your study outline based on the exam blueprint at cisco.com
(2.) CCDA OCG
(3.) ARCH FLG
(4.) Design Zone

In my experience, some material that was not covered within either the CCDA OCG or the CCDA FLG was found explicitly stated within Design Zone or the ARCH FLG.

The first time I took the test, I had not consulted the Design Zone or the ARCH FLG. In reviewing areas that I was not prepared for on the first test, I found the missing information in the Design Zone or within the ARCH FLG. Also, I realized that I didn't know the OCG as well as I should have. After reviewing the ARCH FLG and the Design Zone for fuzzy areas, as well as really scrubbing through the OCG again, I was able to pass on a retake.

You see horror stories on the Cisco Learning Network, where people basically state that you have to "fall in love" with the material in order to pass. I'm not sure if it's love, but I can state that I developed a much greater appreciation of how things "fit together" after I looked over the ARCH and Design Zone material. And that's what you want out of this, right? If so, make sure to include Design Zone and ARCH FLG in your study plans!

With that said, here's how to know when you're ready for the test:
(1.) You know all the end of chapter questions from OCG
(2.) You know the memory tables in the OCG
(3.) You've studied the ARCH FLG
(4.) You've reviewed the Design Zone: data center, campus, remote at a minimum, plus any weak areas