Infosec Career options, opportunities at work

londonladlondonlad Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Good evening, I’m currently a Network administrator for a small MSP and have been for over a decade. I have about 8 MCP certs in areas like 7 / Server 2008 / Exch 2010.

I’ve expressed my ambition to my Employer that I’d like to alter my career path and go into InfoSec. Now, I currently don’t have much knowledge about infosec and neither does the MSP I work for. My Employer has said he would be happy for me to do any course that would mean I could then be qualified / knowledgeable in infosec area’s so we could then apply it to our customers. Particularly relating to replacing all of our customers routers / security appliances with another brand that I would be able to support. This would be good for my employer, and be good CV filler for me as this would be my project! (FYI I’ve been reading up about CISSP / CCSP)

I think in an ideal work my employer would like me to do something Cisco related, however I would like to go into an area that would also provide me with enough knowledge and experience to go on to do a role either outside of this particular company or within this company as a separate entity which would provide security consulting to our current client base.

I would very much like to forge a path into infosec. However, I also need to consider if spending 4months+ studying for the 70-417 upgrade exam so I can attain the MCSA server 2012 will be worth my while if I want to go into Infosec?

Thank you for reading.

Comments

• adrenaline19adrenaline19 Member Posts: 251
    Why do you want to get into infosec? Do you want a raise? Vendor specific certs are good for what you want. Any SANS certs are good too if your employer is willing to pay for them.
  • londonladlondonlad Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I take a very keen interest in Infosec - it isn't about a raise at all. Its something the company want, and something I want too.