Options

Need Advice on taking up the GPEN

nebula105nebula105 Member Posts: 60 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hey guys!

I'm currently a security engineer focusing mostly on projects, monitoring, VA and user account management.

In my spare time, I perform some internal testing, like poking around internal web apps, infra and network devices to hunt for mis-configuration and vulnerabilities using Kali and Powershell.

I'm recently considering taking up the GPEN as a means of improving my pen-testing skills.

In terms of difficulty, is my assumption correct:

eJPT > GPEN > eCPPT > OSCP?

I'm intending to sign up for the eCPPT in a few month's time to supplement the GPEN.

Or will the GPEN supplement the eCPPT instead?

Let me know your thoughts and please, give me your advice! :D

Comments

• Options
    Mike7Mike7 Member Posts: 1,107 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hi @nebula105, long time no see! :D

Getting your company to pay for the course or self-sponsored? GPEN is available July 10th to 15th in Singapore. You will have to wait and register for it through COSEINC or BanffCyber to get CITREP+ funding.

You may want to consider eCPPT first. Perhaps take the eCPPT and eWPT bundle, which is still half the cost of GPEN plus exam, before going for GPEN in July.

Are you going for CREST as well? :D Maybe take CPSA exam with CITREP subsidy while doing your OSCP. Once you attain OSCP, pay processing fee to get CREST CRT.

So

eJPT -> eCPPT -> eWPT -> GPEN -> CPSA -> OSCP -> CRT
  • Options
    Hey Mike!

Long time no see indeed :)

I'm getting the company to pay for the GPEN.

I completely forgot about the eCPPT and eWPT bundle package! Thanks so much for the reminder!

I'm just curious though, on your placement of the GPEN after eCPPT and the eWPT. Would you consider the GPEN tougher? I've read a few mini reviews around and they seem to confirm that:

1) some background knowledge in IT / IT Security will do
    2) read, read and make sure your indexes are good,