So I just passed GSEC....

Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
And I find myself mystified as to why the SANS name, and this certification, seem to get so much respect.

Now, I'm going to say some not so nice things about SANS and the GSEC. Let me preface that by saying that I'm an IT professional with pretty close to two decades of experience. This certification is not targetted at me. The only reason I pursued it was because work required it, and they paid for it.

As I read through the sans course books, I learned absolutely nothing new. Everything they presented I either knew from just general playing around and reading Wikipedia articles and Slashdot comments. I was told it was a high level overview of security, but that was just a little too high level.

I read through all the course material once, just to familiarize myself with where the material was located should I need to actually look a question up. During the actual exam, I looked up maybe 5 questions, the majority of them I answered just off of gut instinct (and I scored 92%).

If you're new, this is probably a good place to start, but you need to understand that this is a primer. It's security 101. You *will* need to keep learning to actually grow. I'd recommend the course to newbies if the pricetag wasn't so high, so the only way I can comfortably recommend it is if you get someone else to pay for it.

If you're like me, an experienced professional, and you're considering taking GSEC.... unless you've just got a ton of free time and cash laying around, skip it, unless you're in the same situation I was (ie, employer requires it, and they pay for it)

Comments

• Paul BozPaul Boz Member Posts: 2,620 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Duh. It's called "security essentials" for a reason. You should have known that going in. If you took a more advanced course you would have different feelings. I also did not learn anything new via the GSEC but I understood that going in.