Interview: Big decisions

techie2012techie2012 Member Posts: 150
I am currently working as a jr network administrator for a relatively small company. Although my title is Jr. Net admin, I am basically a computer technician: Imaging computers, replacing parts, fixing printers, working on active directory and managing Symantec Endpoint Protection and the netbackups.

I am currently working on my CCNA and am planning on having it by July, so I am currently looking for a job to get experience with switches, routers etc. I have an interview with a company called Compucorp and they are most likely going to pay me in the 40k range if I get the job whereas at my current job I am making 25k. Based on the following job description, is this a good job for someone pursuing network engineering status, say in the next five years? Or should I wait and find something more Cisco specific?

Network Support Analyst

Required Certifications (or equivalent experience):
CompTia A+
CompTia Network+
Any Microsoft or Cisco certifications are a plus

Required Experience: (Minmum 2-3 years small business support)
- Structured Cabling
- Windows SMB file sharing in workgroup and domain environments
- Familiarity with supporting Active Directory; adding users, and troubleshooting general issues within computer accounts in Active Directory
- Troubleshoot local DNS issues within a domain based network
- Network device troubleshooting; routers, switches, firewalls [NAT/ACL/MAC Addressing]
- PC Hardware and Software upgrade, repair and build
- Microsoft Server 2003/2008
- Microsoft Exchange 2003/2007/2010
- Microsoft Windows 2000/XP/Vista/Windows 7
- Microsoft Office 2007/2010 (Word, XL, Outlook at a minimum)
- Spyware and virus removal and the ability to detect when both are present
- Experience with Symantec Corporate/Enterprise edition virus protection
- Experience using TCP/IP suite tools to troubleshoot network connectivity issues and lag times
- Ping, tracert, nslookup, etc.