Options

Path after GSEC SEC-401

laughing_manlaughing_man Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have posted a couple of times here on TE. I am currently wrapping up my studying for GSEC. My end date for my exam period is May 23rd, though I hope to sit for the exam before that.

GSEC is my first cert attempt, mainly because my employer is requiring it. I am a junior security analyst, pretty much bottom of the barrel for security where I work. Before this I had general Desktop Support experience for about 5 years. I looked at jumping right into security as a real break for me, and so far I am loving it. My department basically took me on to groom me for log management and incident handling. Right now I am mainly a "log dog", but it is good experience. I am required to attain GSEC before my two year anniversary (this October).

Anyway, I initially felt a little overwhelmed at first by all the material, especially for someone as green as me. I honestly wish I had done Security+ before tackling GSEC. My company really puts a lot of stock in SANS, but I still wish I had done Sec+ just for my own sake.

So after I finish GSEC, I am thinking of doing either GCIH (for obvious reasons), SSCP or CEH. My company also requires me to attain CISSP in order to break into a Senior level analyst position. I won't be eligible for CISSP for at least another 3-5 years anyway, so I am not in a hot rush, especially given everything I else I need to learn.

So given my requirements for advancement, does doing GCIH next or CEH/SSCP make sense? I have seen keatron's recommendations, and with an eventual goal of doing CISSP, would SSCP or CEH be better? I feel like there would be a lot of overlap between SSCP/GSEC.

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    Have you taken the SANS security assessment exam at the SANS Web site? It's to give people an idea of where they stand the course material.