Passed GCIH today

tonyrictonyric Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I skirted DoD 8570 too long and finally was in a position where I had to obtain at least IATII or lose my job. I have a MS in Information Assurance so decided that Sec+ was not the route I wanted to go and my background is more security than systems focused I felt IATIII was better. I searched through CISSP material and realized management is not my route, I figured GCIH and then follow on for a CND cert was my route. SO, I scheduled the cert on Thursday and scheduled with a Proctor for today.

I took one practice exam and got an 80% using the books and no index and figured I was good to go.

I scored 84% on the exam after rushing the last 20 questions once I reached the "I passed" line of 109 questions correct.

Please do not take this to mean the test was easy. It is in fact no joke. I have over 10 years plus my IA degree under my belt so most of the material was refresher for me. If you are coming in cold, you really need to read the material and understand it. Well over 50% of my questions were scenario based so you have to know the IH procedures, some Windows, some Linux and a lot of netcat. BTW, what is up with 15+ questions related to netcat? lol

Good luck to all of you who are pursuing this certification.

Comments

• YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Thanks for posting about your experience with GCIH - And congrats on the pass!

Did you attend the conference or use OnDemand?
  • tonyrictonyric Registered Users Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    YFZblu wrote: »
    Thanks for posting about your experience with GCIH - And congrats on the pass!

Did you attend the conference or use OnDemand?

I went in cold. Just a couple days familiarizing myself with the book layout. I had most of the knowledge from my background.
  • ChooseLifeChooseLife Member Posts: 941 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Nice job, congrats on the pass