GREM vs GCFE

SephStormSephStorm Member Posts: 1,731 ■■■■■■■□□□
Looks like I won a SANS vLive course through EthicalHacker.net (Thanks to Don and the other contributors! Check it out, you might win free training!) I'm looking at my course options and i'm thinking i'd be most interested in FOR610 (GREM) or FOR408 (GCFE).

I have no forensics analysis knowledge or experience beyond the concepts mentioned and the GCIH.

I have no programming knowledge or experience, but I have some basic knowledge of malware analysis in the form of basic and static analysis but again no knowledge or experience with disassembly or debugging.

What do you guys think I should do? As far as my job goes I hope to gain some experience in both areas in the coming year.

Comments

• docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    What would be more practical for you? I get the sense that a student who has at least some programming background would benefit well from FOR610. 408 would benefit anyone who has at least some experience with Windows, so it would seem more appropriate in your case. Since 508 builds well on top of 408, I'd suspect that going through 408 and 508 would be a practical prerequisite before going into 610.

That said, 408 and 508 were designed to be a well-executed pair as they're really the same class but separated into a first and second phase.
    Hopefully-useful stuff I've written: http://kimiushida.com/bitsandpieces/articles/
  • ramrunner800ramrunner800 Member Posts: 238
    That's a pretty excellent prize. Congrats!
    Currently Studying For: GXPN
  • YFZbluYFZblu Member Posts: 1,462 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Congrats on the win! If you have no programming experience, GREM would be a waste of free SANS training. I just took 408; it's a great class, even for those without forensics experience.
  • SephStormSephStorm Member Posts: 1,731 ■■■■■■■□□□