Options

Do network administrators need to know any programming languages

Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
I am certain I do not want to become a programmer.

I was wondering if people that are focusing on networking should be familiar with how to program and if so what would be a good area to start. I believe I will be taking one or two classes in Basic as part of my associates degree.

Any real world feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    elderkaielderkai Member Posts: 279
    Well, Jon, if you want to avoid any time of development I'm sure you can. However, keep in mind that while you don't want to be a programmer, being able to script simple things to automate aspects of your job and solve problem temporarily is extremely beneficial.

I'm a network engineer and while I have coworkers who don't write scripts for anything who are also just fine at their job, being able to do so only helps me do things with less pain and with more efficiency.

For a few real world examples, I'm a linux guy. I think it's easy to say that BASH is the easiest shell to come across already on a system. With that, I picked BASH as my shell scripting language just for convenience sake. There are many days where there's some repetitive task and I'll write a script to automate it as much as possible. At work we have a console router at a few of our branches. To get into a device on that console router, I could either remote to the router and then connect to the console or telnet to the router on port 200X where X is the line number of the console port. I wrote a script that we'll call 'scr' and now I can just do 'scr -a 1', 'scr -b 2', etc where -a would be a specific office.