Options

I work for this company and I want to apply for a position they posted, but im new

RitualRitual Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Ok I work as an entry level IT support technician for a fortune 10 company.

I just started working there a couple of weeks ago. So far I really like it. Naturally I want to progress upwards in the company so I have been learning about their IT divisions and what kind of jobs they post, etc.

I took this job purely for experience and to get my foot in the door, as of a month ago I have never worked in IT. In the last 4 months I have obtained my Network+, A+, Security+ and I am studying for my Windows 10 MCSA, and the Linux Foundations certification. I am also going to pursue my eJPT and eCPPT hopefully in the next 6-8 months.

I saw this job posting https://jobs.cvshealth.com/job/-/-/5770/2198750 and I was really trying to figure out what I can do in the next 6 months to a year that will best prepare me for applying.

I cant get the CISSP because you need years of experience to sit for the exam, is the CISM worth getting?

Should I stop going for my MCSA and start obtaining qualifications for this particular job? Its one they post often and they have a lot of positions open for. I really really want to break into doing something Security related.
2016 goals - eJPT, MCSA Windows 10, something Linux

Comments

• Options
    TheFORCETheFORCE Member Posts: 2,297 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I like how they put 1+years of experience but then list CISSP and CISM. CISM has the same work experience requirements just like CISSP, so you wont be able to do that.