Options

New IT Security Student

ns_frankns_frank Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys and gals,

I am in the 5 year Cyber Security in Information Assurance program at my college. I recently graduated with my Bachelor's degree and now working on my Master's. I also just got a full time position as a network administrator. I'm 22 and I'm learning a lot with networking and you know, being an network admin. I goal is to work in the security field and I feel like I'm not on track for some odd reason. Some of my friends are working right now in a security company and their job task focuses on some type of security work. I plan to stay at my job until I get my Security+ cert in October 2017 and my Master's degree which is in May 2017. Am I making the right decision or should I plan to start with a security company ASAP? Help!!! I'm a lost student looking for some guidance. icon_sad.gif

Comments

• Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Depends on what you want to do in Security... If you want get more into the Networking side of security I'd say your in right the place to start off.
  • Options
    Madmd5Madmd5 Member Posts: 83 ■■■□□□□□□□
    So you're a year away from obtaining your Master's Degree in IA correct? Do you have other certs besides Security+? That's typically regarded as the entry level security cert to get your feet wet. It gives a good foundation then you can branch off to what area you may want to specialize in. I'm assuming as a Network Admin you probably incorporate security in your day to day duties anyways so that's always something to put on your resume. What idea what area in security interests you? It's a broad field, so narrowing down your interests will help figure out what knowledge/certs to go for.
  • Options
    kiki162kiki162 Member Posts: 635 ■■■■■□□□□□