Options

Security or Cloud, maybe a little of both?

CE1028CE1028 Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
So, I feel like I'm at a career crossroad, as I described in my post http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/122732-career-crossroad.html#post1053557 . As of late, I've been studying for the first exam of CCNP Security, almost ready to take it. I also have been closely looking the CISSP or CASP exams.

I've worked my way through the ranks over these many years, from helpdesk, desktop, server and now networking. I started to think though, what jobs am I really going to be applying for? The easy choice since I'm a network engineer now, would be to apply for Senior Network Engineer positions. The issue is that I feel I'm losing interest in the typical "network engineer" role. I'm really into the security side of networking (firewalls, access control, etc), which is why I started the CCNP security, but I know that I no longer want to be responsible for deploying new switches, routers, phones, etc. I still enjoy the traditional route/switch tasks, but I don't want a job that requires travel anymore. I'm hesitant to continue the CCNP Security route because from what I see in job postings, it seems the "network security' role, is really typical network engineer role with some security added to it.

Other than security, I was trying to think of other areas that could be of interest. Cloud Security came to mind. My VCP is expiring next month, so I really need to decide if it's worth renewing and/or if I should I go the AWS route. Not sure if Cloud Security it a position in todays market. Maybe I should go for ISC CCSP and then CISSP.

As mentioned in my previous thread, I have a wide range of experience. I'm currently making a low 6 figure salary, and not really willing to go backwards in earnings, at this point.

Sorry for the rant, just wondering what everyone thinks.

Comments

• Options
    CE1028CE1028 Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□