Java vs. Python - which one is easier for beginners?

ViamaneViamane Member Posts: 1 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm getting a programming assignment at work soon that will necessitate my learning either Java or Python - I have the flexibility to choose which language I'd like to use. I have no experience with "real" programming - all of the programming I've done thus far has been in VBA, SQL, SAS, and R. I'd obviously like to get up to speed as quickly as possible, but I have no intention in becoming an expert. I just need to learn enough to get by. Which one do you recommend I use - what's easier for a total beginner to learn? How much time should I allocate to teaching myself the fundamentals?

Comments

• SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Python is much easier to learn than Java. It is hard to tell how much time you need, but if you understand the basic of programming (if, loops... etc..) than 2-3 days can be enough to get by.  
  • Hawk321Hawk321 Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
    None

There are 3 different aspects for both languages to consider (in a tiny nutshell):

Python:
    • Not so stringent syntax, but still heavy
    • Scripting is often used
    • fast in terms of usage
    • Usable for System-Tasks AND web Guis
    Java:
    • Stringent syntax
    • needs a vm which is significant slower
    • potential license issues depending on what you use in a pro environment
    • PITA for System-Task
    • Used for backends which fire up complex business applications
    • Standard for App-Servers like Tomcat or Wildfly
    • GUI's are old, yes Swing and FX do work great but as far as I know, there are not interfaces to implement them in a browser
      So you have to use Vaadin or learn HTML, CSS + (whatever)JS to get a Browser GUI which can intercept data to pipe them through the Java Backend